napowrimo day 16

phew… yesterday’s challenge still not finished which hopefully will be a terzanelle – a hybrid of the villanelle and terza rima, terzanelles consist of five three-line stanzas and a concluding quatrain. Lines and rhymes are chained throughout the poem, so that the middle line of each triplet is repeated as the last line of the following triplet (or, for the last triplet, in the concluding quatrain). in my defence i have finished off a song today that is just begging me to sing it at the launch event for Lorna Smither’s wonderful poetry book “enchanting the shadowlands” on wednesday…

Lorna’s Blog – https://lornasmithers.wordpress.com/

Lorna’s Book – http://www.lulu.com/shop/lorna-smithers/enchanting-the-shadowlands/paperback/product-22000368.html

Song –

She said…

Verse 1
When we took those ideas from the deserts
Transplanted them onto our land
We gave away our inheritance
It’s a long time to misunderstand

Now we look to the sky for our answers
To the white man who sits way up high
We forget that we stand on her backbones
Makes no sense and I don’t know why

Chorus
She said this is my church here where I stand
With my hands in the earth and my feet on the ground
She said this is my church here where I stand
With my heart in my mouth and my soul in the land

You can tell me I’m a dreamer
But I sleep well at night and my conscience is light
You can tell me I’m a dreamer
But I know that’s what I’d rather be

Verse 2
Then we built all our places of worship
On ground where the old stones they lay
Replacing the green sacred landscape
For the straight lines of boxes in clay

But the ancestors won’t be forgotten
They sing loud and strong from the bones
Saying know that we have never left
This crazy old place we call home

Chorus

You can tell me that I’m foolish
But a fool doesn’t care if the people they stare
You can tell me that I’m foolish
But I know that’s what I’d rather be

Chorus

You can tell me that I’m childish
But a child knows the truth for the whole of her youth
You can tell me that I’m childish
But I know that’s what I’d rather be

Chorus

3 thoughts on “napowrimo day 16

  1. lornasmithers April 18, 2015 / 11:01 am

    Do like this and am looking forward to hearing it!

  2. ninamgeorge April 19, 2015 / 4:18 pm

    i am looking forward to your book launch -yay!

Leave a Reply

