feral moon (poem)

20150203_222114-2

a poem dedicated to the full moon just gone and the many more to come… sometimes it is only the moon who can save me from myself…

feral moon

she rises,
shrugs off the cloud like
a silk kimono and lets it drop. oh
(intake of breath), those low golden curves.
she lets her universe-ancient body catch the sun
and shines, she steps forward, her marks and wrinkles
proud talismans of her age. she turns my way, her
rounded stare fish-hooks my heart, pulls
everything that is water in me to
her. i sit on my haunches
and howl.

20150203_231731-2

5 thoughts on “feral moon (poem)

  1. lornasmithers February 7, 2015 / 8:48 am

    Powerful and very vivid. I can see why she stopped you in your tracks…

    ‘i sit on my haunches
    and howl.’

    You should come and join my performance group 🙂

    • ninamgeorge February 9, 2015 / 4:15 pm

      thank you lorna – need to commit a few to memory before i can do that!

  2. Andrew Smith February 9, 2015 / 1:02 pm

    Wow! Hooked my heart too, just by reading it. Evocative piece of writing, Nina.

Leave a Reply

